Prelude in C Minor

      This is a lovely melodic piece written in the romantic style for beginning piano students.  Although the three flat key signature may seem daunting at first, the chords are very simple and repeated throughout the piece.   I’ve avoided dissonances as usual, because they tend to confuse the student.  Since this Prelude was written for the keyboard/piano, the notes fall naturally under the fingers and  I’ve included basic fingering with any “odd” fingerings circled to tip you off to an unusual hand position.

     Prelude in A Minor is excellent for practicing smooth pedalling.   A touch of pedal may be added to each beat if the student is playing it slowly.    At a slightly faster tempo, one pedal change per measure will be perfect.

Prelude in C Minor clip

Click below to download full score

Prelude in C Minor

      This is a nicely formatted PDF file.   If you print it out on card stock it will be easy to arrange on the piano rack.   Enjoy!

The Happy Piano Professor

.

.

.

.

.

This entry was posted in Piano Compositions Ty-Tomkins and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Prelude in C Minor

  1. O says:

    Thank you for posting. Why did you pick the title “Prelude in A minor?”

    • nikkitytom says:

      My initial response was to reply that I wanted to avoid the dreadful ‘kiddie” titles one find plastered on so much teaching material. THEN I looked at the piece and cracked up.

      I can tell you if any piano teacher of mine couldn’t tell the difference between the key signatures of A minor and C minor … I wouldn’t have much faith in her,

      My fail …. big time. .

      Thanks so much for your discrete and restrained query. I deserved much harsher censure.

      ( But now I am tempted to keep the title to see if anyone else notices …)

  2. O says:

    I actually thought you picked the title as a joke.

  3. Constantin Stephan says:

    As for me, I sometimes have to think a couple of seconds when I get asked which key signature I am playing. I once referred to Chopin’s polonaise Op. 53 as E-flat major because it begins with that key (while the theme is A-flat major).

    Your prelude is really nice, I also like the “meadow lark”. Both sheets do not indicate the required tempo, but since this is educational stuff, the students can start playing these pieces in low tempo and try them faster when they are improving, right?

    Best regards.
    Constantin

    • nikkitytom says:

      You are quite correct. My music is an “urtext” in the style of the early Baroque composers who rarely indicated tempi ( since they had no metronome) and very few dynamics since the harpischord was incapable of producing them with its plucked rather than struck strings. The harpsichord featured double keyboards. The louder one was “coupled” thus playing two octaves. The softer only played one note at a time. This provided the only possible dynamics in the age before the piano.

      For me the freedom of those early scores is wonderful. And since today’s performers already ignore so many of the original dynamics for their own ( often idiosyncratic) choices, my feeling is that the performer can choose and thus “participate” in making the music in a wholly wonderful way. Actually I’m trying to bridge the gap between that horrible “educational stuff” and the early classics by masters such as Bach and Mozart. And I want the pianist to approach these simple pieces as an opportunity to “make” music with me.

Leave a Reply

